Election Process

Attention Pharmacists in District H and N: It's Time to Vote!

All eligible voters in Districts H and N should receive information about participating in this election by Wednesday, July 11, 2018. Sign-in information is sent by BigPulse, the company contracted to facilitate the College’s elections.

There are two seats up for election in District H and members can vote for up to two candidates.

There are three seats up for election in District N and members can vote for up to three candidates.

The term for all of these positions will end in September 2021.

View the candidates profiles here.

Elections will close at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 1, 2018.

Haven't received your ballot?

If you have not received an email inviting you to vote, you should check your junk and spam boxes. If you still cannot find the email from BigPulse, contact your internet service provider and have them place BigPulse.com on your "safe senders" list.

If you are having difficulty accessing the ballot, please contact councilelections@ocpinfo.com

Election Documents

The Nomination and Eligibility form can be printed or filled in electronically. Download a free version of Adobe Reader if you wish to complete the form electronically.

Elected Pharmacists & Pharmacy Technicians

The College Council is composed of 15 elected pharmacists and two elected pharmacy technicians. Each year Council holds elections for one-third of the electoral districts on the first Wednesday in August. The term of office for elected members is three years with a maximum of nine consecutive years.

Elected Council members must hold a valid certificate of registration as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician in Ontario and be a member in good standing with the College. Candidates must be nominated by at least three members who are eligible to vote in the electoral district for which the candidate is nominated.

Every member of the College who is a resident of Ontario and has paid their annual fee qualifies to vote in Council elections. Information about how to vote is sent out to members of the College each June.

Council elects a President and Vice-President from among its members and hires a Registrar who is the Chief Executive Officer of the College. The Registrar oversees the day-to-day work and staff of the College.

More information about Council elections, voting districts, eligibility and more is available in the College’s By-law No. 5.

Public Members

Public members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. As a general rule, appointments are for a three-year term. There may also be an opportunity to renew the appointment. Public appointees are expected to serve between eight and 45 days per year. More information about the appointment process is available through the Public Appointments Secretariat.

Non-Council Committee Members

Non-council committee members are not elected members of Council. Practitioners who wish to be considered for appointment as a non-council committee member should review the application guide and complete the application form.