

OF COUNCIL NOVEMBER 24, 2016

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 24, 2016 - 11:01 A.M.

VIA CONFERENCE CALL/IN-PERSON &

COUNCIL CHAMBERS SOUTH, ONTARIO COLLEGE OF PHARMACISTS

Elected Members

District H	Dr. Régis Vaillancourt, Ottawa – In person
District H	Ms. Christine Donaldson, Windsor – Via conference call
District K	Dr. Esmail Merani, Carleton Place – In person
District K	Ms. Tracey Phillips, Westport – Via conference call
District L	Mr. Billy Cheung, Markham – Via conference call
District L	Mr. James Morrison, Burlington – In person
District L	Dr. Sony Poulose, Hamilton – Via conference call
District M	Mr. Fayez Kosa, Toronto - Regrets
District M	Mr. Don Organ, Toronto – In person
District M	Ms. Laura Weyland, Toronto – Via conference call
District N	Mr. Gerry Cook, London – In person
District N	Mr. Chris Leung, Windsor – Via conference call
District N	Dr. Karen Riley, Sarnia - Regrets
District P	Mr. Jon MacDonald, Sault Ste. Marie – Via conference call
District P	Mr. Douglas Stewart, Sudbury - Regrets
District T	Ms. Michelle Filo, Sudbury - Regrets
District TH	Mr. Goran Petrovic, Kitchener – Via conference call

Dr. Heather Boon, Dean, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto - Regrets Dr. David Edwards, Hallman Director, School of Pharmacy, University of Waterloo – Via conference call

Members Appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council

Ms. Kathleen Al-Zand, Ottawa – Via conference call

Ms. Linda Bracken, Marmora - Via conference call

Ms. Carol-Ann Cushnie, Toronto - Via conference call

Mr. Ronald Farrell, Sundridge - Via conference call

Mr. Naj Hassam, North York - Regrets

Mr. Javaid Khan, Markham - Via conference call

Mr. John Laframboise, Ottawa - In person

Mr. James MacLaggan, Bowmanville - Via conference call

Ms. Sylvia Moustacalis, Toronto – In person

Mr. Shahid Rashdi, Mississauga - Via conference call

Ms. Joy Sommerfreund, London - Via conference call

Mr. Ravil Veli, North Bay - Via conference call

Mr. Wes Vickers, LaSalle - Regrets

Staff present

Ms. Connie Campbell, Director, Finance and Administration Ms. Ushma Rajdev, Council and Executive Liaison

1. Noting Members Present

The President thanked the Council members for attending this Special Meeting of Council and after establishing that all members participating in the conference call were able to hear the proceedings and each other, Council member attendance was determined through a roll-call.

2. President's Opening Remarks

Dr. Vaillancourt explained that while some of the meeting material was distributed ahead of time, due to the nature of the discussion, there were certain documents that would be made available to Council members once the meeting moved *in camera*.

3. Declaration of Conflict

There were no conflicts declared.

4. Approval of Agenda

It was moved and seconded that the Agenda be approved. CARRIED.

5. Motions respecting Committee-of-the-Whole

Since this issue pertained to a personnel matter, and accordingly met the requirements for having an in-camera session under section 7 of the Health Professions Procedural Code, it was moved and seconded that Council do now, at 11:06 a.m., move into Committee-of-the-whole. CARRIED.

Council discussed the appointment of the Registrar and CEO.

It was moved and seconded that at 11:55 a.m., Council do now rise from Committee ofthe-Whole, CARRIED.

6. Motion respecting Appointment of CEO and Registrar

It was moved and seconded that Council approve the appointment of Ms. Nancy Lum-Wilson as CEO and Registrar of the Ontario College of Pharmacists effective January 9, 2017. Council members voted unanimously in favour of the motion. CARRIED.

7. Other Matters/Unfinished Business

7.1 Motion respecting Dissolution on the Search Committee

With the mandate of the Search Committee fulfilled, it was moved and seconded that the Search Committee be dissolved. CARRIED.

8. Motion respecting Circulation of Minutes of Special Meeting of Council

A motion to approve the circulation of the draft minutes of this Special Meeting of Council to Council members was moved and seconded. CARRIED.

9. Motion of Adjournment

It was moved and seconded that the Council meeting be adjourned at 11:56 a.m. and to reconvene on Monday December 12, 2016, or at the call of the President. CARRIED.

Ushma Rajdev Council and Executive Liaison Régis Vaillancourt President

INDEX

	Page
Nancy Lum-Wilson - Appointment as CEO and Registrar	4
Motion respecting Dissolution on the Search Committee	