2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV): Information for Pharmacy Professionals READ MORE  
close skinny banner

Council Elects New President and Vice-President

Posted:Oct 1st, 2015
Read Time: 2 Min Read

The Council for the Ontario College of Pharmacists has elected Esmail Merani, R.Ph as President, and Regis Vaillancourt, R.Ph as Vice-President for the 2015-2016 Council year. Each will serve a one-year term from September 2015 to September 2016.

Merani, a pharmacist for the last 42 years, is co-owner of four pharmacies in the Ottawa area and manages a pharmacy in Carleton Place. He’s also worked in pharmacies in Coburg, North Bay and Exeter. Merani obtained a B.Pharm from Robert Gordon University in Scotland, UK in 1973 and a Pharm.D from Shenandoah University in Virginia, USA in 2008. He also has an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors through the Rotman School of Business. He has a passion for community service and was the recipient of the prestigious Bowl of Hygeia for Outstanding Community Service in Pharmacy in 1985. As well, he is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of Carleton Place Memorial Hospital. Merani joined College Council in 2010 and has served on various committees including Accreditation, Finance and Audit, Professional Practice, Executive, Registration, and the Inquiries, Complaints & Reports Committee (ICRC).

“I’m really looking forward to the great work to be done at the College this year,” said Merani. “I am motivated and will be counting on the expertise of my fellow Council members as we continue to develop capacity in overseeing hospital pharmacies, establish a new Code of Ethics, remain committed to our efforts to increase transparency, and most importantly, protect the public.”

Vaillancourt, a hospital pharmacist also from the Ottawa area, is currently the Director of Pharmacy at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO). He obtained a B.Pharm from Universté Laval, and a Pharm.D from the University of Toronto. He is a retired Lieutenant Colonel from the Canadian Armed Forces and was awarded the Order of Military Merit by former Governor General of Canada, Adrienne Clarkson. As well, he was named Canadian Pharmacist of the Year by the Canadian Pharmacy Association in 2004. Vaillancourt joined College Council in 2012 and has served on various committees including Accreditation, Drug Preparation Premises, Executive, Fitness to Practise and Patient Relations.

“The College is fortunate to have Esmail and Regis leading Council for the year ahead,” said College Registrar, Marshall Moleschi. “They are both knowledgeable and skilled in their fields, and have a strong understanding of the College’s mandate to protect the public. I’m sure they will confidently lead Council in their fulfillment of the Strategic Framework.”