Jurisprudence, Ethics and Professionalism Exam

NEW! Jurisprudence, Ethics, and Professionalism Exam Process Overview e-Module

Introducing our new e-module for the Jurisprudence, Ethics, and Professionalism exam process! This e-module covers essential topics such how to apply for the exam, exam eligibility requirements, what to expect on exam day, the Prometric pre-exam check-in process, available resources for candidates, and the exam results process. It provides a comprehensive overview to ensure candidates have a clear understanding of the entire exam journey from start to finish and we highly encourage that you review it before applying for the exam.

The Jurisprudence, Ethics and Professionalism exam is an entry-to-practice requirement for registration as a pharmacist or pharmacy technician in Ontario. It assesses a candidate’s knowledge of federal and provincial legislation affecting pharmacy practice in Ontario as part of the “Ethical, Legal and Professional Responsibilities” competency from the Professional Competencies for Canadian Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians at Entry-to-Practice. The exam is based on an examination blueprint that has been approved by the Registration Committee.

Candidates should check the relevant pharmacist or pharmacy technician registration pathway to see when they are eligible to take the exam.

The exam is offered in both English and French.

Requests for testing accommodations will be considered on an individual basis when received with the application at least 45 days before the exam date.

Read the Pharmaceutical Jurisprudence, Ethics and Professionalism Exam policy.

Exam Dates

The exam is offered three times per year in February, June and October. Exam dates are posted on the Apply for the Exam page.

Exam Locations

The exam is offered online by remote proctor and in select Prometric testing centres across Canada with limited seat availability.

Testing centres are located in:

  • Ontario – Hamilton, London, Mississauga, Ottawa, North York, Toronto (downtown)
  • Quebec – Quebec City, Montreal (Pointe-Claire)
  • Western Provinces – Calgary, AB; Edmonton, AB; Regina, SK; Saskatoon, SK; Vancouver, BC; Winnipeg, MB
  • Eastern Provinces – Dartmouth, NS; St. John’s, NFLD